New Jersey’s laws regarding child support are based upon the principle that all children are entitled to the financial support of their parents. In New Jersey, child support is calculated using the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines in almost every case. The New Jersey Child Support Guidelines provide a formula for determining the amount that each parent is responsible to contribute toward their children’s financial needs.
The Guidelines apply to all children under the age of 18 whose parents’ combined net weekly income does not exceed $3,600 weekly. If a child is not emancipated at the age of 18, or if the parents’ combined net weekly income exceeds $3,600, the Court must consider the statutory factors set forth in N.J.S.A. 2A:34-23(a).
Our attorneys are ready to assist you in establishing, modifying or enforcing a child support order. Contact the Law Office of Peter J. Laemers for a free ½ hour consultation to learn more about New Jersey child support.